Record Prize

Record Prize 1994

Hans-Klaus Jungheinrich, Frankfurt; Oswald Beaujean, München; Josef Lanz, Bozen; Enzo Restagno, Turin
President: Attila Csampai, München


Category A: mono

Gustav Mahler: Symphony n. 1
London Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra,
Conductor: Hermann Scherchen

(recording 1954)

Westminster XWN 18014 


Category B: stereo

Gustav Mahler: Symphony n. 4
Judith Raskin, Cleveland Orchestra
Conductor: George Szell

(recording 1965)

Sony/CBS MK 42416 


Category C: new productions

Lieder from „Des Knaben Wunderhorn“
in the original  version for piano
Baritone, Thomas Hampson; piano, Geoffrey Parsons;

(recordings 1991 and 1993)

Teldec 9031-74726  


Special price

to Dimitri Mitropoulos (1896-1960) for his deserving commitment to Mahler and for his excellent recordings of Mahler’s works